Image alt

Elvis Elí Delgado Burga

"Never think that your dreams will not come true but think that with your effort and dedication you will achieve it”

Studying

Business Administration 

School

Universidad Cesar Vallejo-Trujillo

Age

22

Disability

Physical disability

Location

Cajamarca

Dreams

"My dream is to become a great professional. I want to help and take care of my parents, to be able to work and someday travel to the U.S. and be happy with my family"


About me

My name is Elvis Delgado Burga. I was born in Maigasbamba, Bambamarca. My parents are Gilverto Delgado Burga y Luz Marina Burga Chávez. They brought me into this world, took care of me, protected me, and raised me. I am the fourth of 5 children. Well, my life has not been easy. I have endured hunger, cold, and pain. When I was 5 and 6 years old, I was in preschool. After 7 years of age, I went to school, but my house was far away from the school and I had to walk a lot to arrive at school. In Bambamarca it rains a lot and I was afraid I would fall because I have a bad hip. Sometimes I didn’t have any breakfast due to the financial situation of my parents. We did not have lights in our house and we had to use an oil lamp. We were poor. Years later they put electricity in our house and we had light. I had to get up early to help my parents before school. My mother sells vegetable and condiments in the market. My dad is a farmer. Years later I finished primary school and decided to go to high school. When I entered high school, I began to work on a mototaxi (small motorcycle/rickshaw/taxi common en Peru) to earn money to help my parents. When I worked on a mototaxi, there were good days and bad because there is already a lot of mototaxis. I wanted a different job but the other jobs were hard work that paid little. Often I had problems with my family. I liked animals, especially dogs and bulls. I had to help with the animals on the farm. In my sophomore year of high school, my mom realized that I was not well. They sent me to the Hogar San Francisco de Asis, where my life was very different and changed a lot. I learned a lot from Dr. Tony and the other kids. I had many things that I had never thought of because my house had nothing. I didn’t have the nice clothes and many other things that I have now. For example: food, mobility, and the quality of my medical treatment. I am very grateful to my parents and Dr. Tony who does a lot for me in order to treat the pain I have. Thanks for taking care of me when I was so bad. The doctor is very good. I have never known a person like him. I will never forget all that he did for me. Now I am 18 and have to leave the hogar (The hogar is only for minors under the age of 18) and return to Bambamarca to stay with my parents. I cannot say more because I don’t know my future. I hope to finish my senior year of high school, but it will be difficult because it is far from my house and I have to work to help my family. I want to be a professional of some sort. I want to help and take care of my family.


Support The Student to Reach His Dreams!

Yearly
Monthly
English Access
$180 / year
    Get Started